jump to navigation

Scholars Counter Anti-Hispanic Scientific Racism May 17, 2013

Posted by Summerspeaker in Anarchism, Anti-imperialism, Decolonization, Epistemology, Evo psych.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

This is a hard one for me. Invoking academic authority against racism seems convenient but dangerous. I’m more interested in opposing white supremacy on political than epistemological grounds, though I grant both hold merit. The final paragraph strikes me as particularly glaring, especially that assertion that academic debates are “based on valid constructs and scientific evidence.” This attempted purification of the Imperial Academy reinforces its privilege and prestige. Within a materialist-empiricist epistemological framework, I absolutely agree with the statement’s argument against scientific racism. That’s the framework I operate under most of the time and the one I find most useful, but I’m too much of a skeptic to consider it incontestable truth. The whole idea of scientific or academic authority enables appeals like Jason Richwine’s. I’d prefer to undermine the entire edifice than to expel the bad apples and fortify the gates. But I did reluctantly sign on.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

