jump to navigation

Striving for superintelligence October 17, 2010

Posted by Summerspeaker in Technology, The Singularity, Transhumanism.
trackback

I’m having a lively discussion over on RevLeft about friendly artificial intelligence and related issues. An excerpt:

You’re not at all concerned about a single technological development that purports to invalidate traditional social struggle? I’m sure you actually are considering that recognition of the danger involved generated the friendly AI movement in the first place. Anissimov and company argue for moving forward primarily because making good AI seems the best way to prevent bad AI. I’m glad folks are thinking about the issue, but I’m not convinced by the SIAI platform. Even if I accepted their framework I see no credible way to prevent narrowly interested AI and achieve friendly AI barring a massive popular campaign. Without one, either the military will beat them to the punch or they’ll accidentally encode their own values into the machine and we’ll be stuck with bourgeois positivism for the rest of eternity.

That sums up my views on the subject rather nicely. In other news, Michael just wrote a charming post about veganism. It reminds me why I still read eir blog.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

