jump to navigation

I finally read Accelerando by Charles Stross January 26, 2011

Posted by Summerspeaker in Technology, The Singularity, Transhumanism.
trackback

Both the work itself and the discussion in David Correia’s class disappointed me. I found Stross’s treatment of gender heterocentric and uninspired. The first section held my attention while conjuring up memories of Neuromancer. I appreciated the critique of capitalism. Beyond that my interest waned despite the various critical concepts in play. Many of my classmates hated Accelerando with a hot passion; this animosity extended to Twitter and Facebook. I feared leaving my newly acquired Kindle in the classroom during the break.

Creating a revolutionary technological society based on the principles of liberty and equality sure ain’t going to be easy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

